资源

老年人和残障人士

Project Bread的FoodSource (食物来源) 热线

1.800.645.8333

以180种语言提供食品协助

Hotline Hours

周一至周五

上午8点至晚上7点

周六上午

8点至下午2点

Yellow Stars

得到帮助

帮助老年人(60岁以上)和残障人士

如果您是老年人或残障人士,特别是如果您靠一笔固定的收入生活,SNAP或许能成为一项重要资源。无论您拥有自己的住房、住在老年公寓或集体住宅中,还是与家人同住,您都可能有资格获得福利。 

关于残障人士的说明

Project Bread认识到“残障”一词可以包括各种不同的状况,例如肢体损伤、精神损伤、神经疾病等。残障并不总是意味着损伤或缺陷。我们也理解一名残障人士可能并不一定参加了政府的残障计划。对于SNAP等政府计划,申请人需要有政府机构认可的残障状态。这些残障状态的例子将在后面给出。

 

我们也尊重一个人选择其称呼方式的权利。在此页面,我们选择使用“残障人士”这一术语,而不用“残疾人” 的说法。我们认识到,残障人士可以选择他们希望的称呼,称呼之间并无高下。

SNAP的特殊规定

  • DTA实施了一项重大的、令人激动的政策变更,使得老年人和残障人士的申请过程变得更加容易:60岁以上和/或获得残障福利的领取SNAP的家庭,可以用书面或口头方式向DTA自行申报其每月35至155美元的医疗费用。这一项目利用了标准的医疗费用抵扣额。如果一个家庭索偿的医疗费超过190美元(35美元的阈值+155美元/月),则所有医疗费用都需要核实。
  • 申请人不需要受雇,就可能有资格获得SNAP。
  • 您可以指定您信任的人作为授权代表,让他们能够使用您的SNAP卡为您购买食物。
  • 不同的家庭有不同的验证期限。欲知更多信息,请联系FoodSource热线或DTA。

DTA将计算在内的医疗费用的示例

  • 药物和找医生就诊的共付额
  • 医疗保险的月费和免赔额
  • 就诊的交通费用
  • 居家护理的费用
  • 非处方药、维生素、医疗用品

重要注意事项

  • 如果您年满60岁,您将被视为老年申请人。
  • 如果您正在接受政府残障福利,包括SSI(补充保障收入)、SSDI(社安局残障福利)、面向残障人士的MassHealth、因残障退休的公职人员(如果社安局认为您的残障是永久性的)、因残障退伍的老兵(在满足某些条件之后),您将被视为残障人士。
  • 即使根据SNAP规则您不被视为残障人士,过渡援助部 (DTA) 仍可能需要为您的残障情况做出“合理照顾”。无论如何,您都应该与您的DTA个案负责人讨论您的任何特殊需求。
  • 如果您是残障人士并且住在集体住宅中,则有一些用于决定您的申请资格的特殊规定。
  • 如果您只领取SSI福利并且独居,您可能有资格获得Bay State CAP (马萨诸塞州联合申请项目)的SNAP福利。这不是一个单独的福利,但在某些情况下可为您带来更高的福利额度。但是,如果您有医疗费用或高昂的租金或抵押贷款,马萨诸塞州的CAP可能会导致较低的福利金额。
  • 如需更多信息,请联系Project Bread的FoodSource热线1-800-645-8333。

Resources

Elders & Disabled

Project Bread's FoodSource Hotline

1.800.645.8333

Food assistance in 180 languages

Hotline Hours

Mon-Fri

8am-7pm

Sat

10am-2pm

Yellow Stars

Get Help

Help for elders (age 60+) and persons with disabilities

SNAP can be a vital resource if you are elderly or a person with a disability, especially if you are living on a fixed income. Whether you own your home, live in elderly housing or a group home, or have moved in with family, you may qualify for benefits. 

A Note on People with Disabilities

Project Bread recognizes that the term “disability” can include a wide variety of different conditions, such as physical impairment, mental impairment, neurodivergence, etc. A disability doesn’t always mean an impairment or deficiency. We also understand that a person with a disability isn’t necessarily on a government disability program. For government programs such as SNAP, a disability status as recognized by a government agency is needed. Examples of these disability statuses are given later.

We also respect a person’s right to choose how they prefer to be addressed. For this page, we have chosen to use “persons with disabilities” instead of “disabled people.” We recognize that the person with a disability is the one who chooses how they prefer to be addressed. One way is not better than the other.

Special SNAP regulations

  • DTA has implemented a major, exciting policy change to make this process MUCH easier for older adults and persons with disabilities: SNAP households 60+ and/or getting a disability benefit can self-declare in writing or verbally with DTA their medical costs between $35 and $155 a month. This leverages the standard medical expense deduction. If a household claims costs over $190 ($35 threshold plus $155/mo), all medical costs will need to be verified. 
  • There is no work requirement to be eligible for SNAP.
  • You can designate someone you trust to be an Authorized Representative, which would enable them to use your SNAP card to purchase food for you.
  • Different households have different certification periods. Please contact the FoodSource Hotline or DTA for additional information.

Examples of Medical Expenses DTA will count

  • Copayments for medications and doctor visits
  • Premiums and deductibles for health insurance
  • Cost of transportation for medical visits
  • Home care costs
  • OTC medications, vitamins, medical supplies

Important Notes

  • You are considered to be an elderly applicant if you are age 60 and older.
  • You are considered a disabled applicant if you are receiving a government disability benefit, including SSI (Supplemental Security Income), SSDI, MassHealth for the disabled, a public disability retirement (if considered permanent by Social Security), veteran’s disability retirement (after meeting certain conditions).
  • Even if you are not considered disabled according to SNAP rules, the Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA) may still be required to make “reasonable accommodations” for a disability you have. You should always discuss any special needs with your DTA caseworker.
  • If you are disabled and live in a group home, there are special regulations that will determine your eligibility to apply.
  • If you are receiving only SSI benefits and live alone, you may be eligible for Bay State CAP SNAP Benefits. This is not a separate benefit but in some instances can result in higher benefits. However, if you have medical expenses or a high rent or mortgage, Bay State CAP may result in a lower amount.
  • For more information contact Project Bread’s FoodSource Hotline at 1-800-645-8333.

"Let's Chat" — our counselors are available online!

Have questions or want to find out if you are eligible for SNAP? Start a chat with a Project Bread FoodSource Hotline counselor using the Live Chat feature below!